Jack White 2018

New Music This Week (w/e 12/01/18)

Welcome once again to the playlist that never ends. Lots of great new music over the past seven days, let’s kick off with some brand new Jack White!

Jack White – Connected By Love

Love this. As always, Jack returns with music that’s nothing if not intriguing. This is the lead track from his album Boarding House Reach, out March 23rd on Third Man Records.


Wyvern Lingo – Maybe It’s My Nature

Karen from the band has said this song is all about her giving people The Glad Eye.


David Byrne – Everybody’s Coming To My House

His first solo album in 14 years, American Utopia will be with us in March. The title refers to how America COULD be, possibly if there wasn’t such a wankstain in charge.


Ride – Catch you Dreaming

Brand new music from Ride, hot on the heels of last year’s Weather Diaries album. This is the lead track from the EP Tomorrow’s Shore, out next month, featuring 4 new songs. It’ll be available digitally and on 12″ vinyl


Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Echo

Suddenly, it’s 2003! Or so you might think when coming across a new song from BRMC. Hark though, as your ear refuses to stop pulsating giddily at the beauty of ‘Echo’. The album Wrong Creatures is also worth checking out.


Simple Minds – Signal And The Noise

This is the second taster from The Minds‘ upcoming album Walk Between Worlds. The lead single, ‘Magic’, is godawful Your-Uncle-Doing-EDM muck, but this is much better. Strong melody, and we love the synths


Starcrawler – I Love L.A.

We highlighted Starcrawler‘s charm previously, here. Their debut, self-titled album is out next Friday, and we predict they’ll be taking he festival circuit by storm this summer.


The Breeders – All Nerve

What’s not to love about The Breeders?  Well they’ve heavily influenced the band above, for starters. This is the title track from the new album out March 2nd


Gaz Coombes – Deep Pockets

Gaz‘s 2015 album Matador was one of the best albums of the year, and we’re thrilled that his new one, World’s Strongest Man, will be out in May. The lead single, ‘Deep Pockets’, is a winner, though no radio stations will pick up on it.


Franz Ferdinand – Feel The Love Go

Funky. The rehabilitation of Franz Ferdinand continues apace.


David Bowie – Let’s Dance (demo)

Released to mark what would’ve been Dave’s 71st birthday. All the elements are here, but the magic dust was yet to be sprinkled. And sprinkled it certainly was.


New Album Of The Week:
Shame – Songs Of Praise

The Guardian recently called them ‘Britain’s Most Exciting New Band’. They’re young, pissed off, and they quite like Punk Rock. Songs Of Praise swaggers, spits and shines.


If you like our New Music Picks, please consider following our Never-Ending Playlist here. It’s where we put all the new music we recommend, and some classics. You can also check out all our playlists under the Playlists tab

Leave a Reply