Tonight, Matthew, I'm going to be Neil Young
News New Music

New Music This Week (w/e June 23rd)

Here are our favourite new tracks from the past seven days:

Radiohead – Man of War

One of three tracks unofficially released before now, Man Of War appears on OKNOTOK, the reissue of OK Computer, released today.  Video is reassuringly creepy


Fischerspooner – Have Fun Tonight

First new music in eight years from these lads.  The new album, SIR, was co-written and co-produced by Michael Stipe, and will be with us in September


Filthy Friends – The Arrival

…And in further R.E.M.-related news, check out the new single from Peter Buck, Bill Rieflin, Scott McCaughey, Corin Tucker, and Kurt Bloch, AKA Filthy Friends.  The album Invitation is out August 25th


Hercules & Love Affair feat. Sharon Van Etten – Omnion

Great stuff from all concerned.  Title track of H&LA’s new album, out September 1st


Guided By Voices – Just To Show You

Great to have them back with new music.  Their 25th studio album How Do you Spell Heaven, will be out August 25th.  This is the lead single


New Album Of The Week:
Jeff Tweedy – Together At Last

Where Wilco frontman and all-round American hero Tweedy presents acoustic takes of tracks from his back catalogue.  Just him and an acoustic guitar.  Wonderful late-night listening.


Reissue Of The Week
Prince & The Revolution – Purple Rain

We’ve already discussed this masterpiece here. A bigger deal than the Radiohead OK Computer reissue, we reckon.