News New Music

New Music This Week (w/e June 16th)

Lots of great new songs released over the past week, here are our favourites:

Queens Of The Stone Age – The Way You Used To Do

You wouldn’t want to spill Josh Homme’s pint.  But if you did, apologised, and offered to buy him a replacement, he’d probably be fine with it. This is the lead single from QOTSA‘s new album Villains, produced by Mark Ronson.  Love the imagery on the visual below, too.  Welcome back.

This is great too, a promo for the new record:


Stevie Nicks – Your Hand I Will Never Let It Go

Last week saw the release of a new album by Lindsey Buckingham and Christine McVie.  Not to be outdone, their Fleetwood Mac bandmate Stevie releases a brand new song, taken from the soundtrack of a movie called ‘Book Of Henry’. Eh, could the 3 of you not all get into the studio together with Mick and John and bash out a new album instead? God.


Wolf Alice – Yuk Foo

See what they did there?  Truth be told, the song’s not great, but worth highlighting as it’s the first taster from the album Visions Of A Life, which will be with us in September.  Ellie says ‘shit’ a lot in this song. Cos Wolf Alice are webels.


Washed Out – Hard To Say Goodbye

Ernest Greene releases his new album Mister Mellow through the lways wonderful Stones Throw Records on June 30th. It’s a visual album though, which is usually wank.


Arcade Fire – Creature Comfort

They’ve officially gone synth-pop.  And it’s glorious. See Regine rocking the Keytar in this video.  Really looking forward to the new album Everything Now. It’s out July 28th


New Album Of The Week:
Beth Ditto – Fake Sugar

What a collection of songs she’s put together for this album.  All do justice to that incredible voice.  Here are our two favourites:


Reissue Of The Week
Big Star – The Best Of Big Star

You need this in your life. Wonderful introduction to the band. Available on CD or double-vinyl. Here’s the tracklist:

  1. In The Street (Single Mix)
  2. Don’t Lie To Me (Single Version)
  3. September Gurls (Single Version)
  4. Thirteen
  5. Jesus Christ (Single Edit)
  6. I’m In Love With A Girl
  7. O, My Soul (Single Edit)
  8. Feel
  9. When My Baby’s Beside Me
  10. Take Care
  11. Life Is White
  12. Watch The Sunrise (Single Version)
  13. The Ballad Of El Goodo
  14. Nightime
  15. Back Of A Car
  16. Thank You Friends