Playlists Redux

U2’s ‘Rattle And Hum’ Redux

Rattle And Hum. The Joshua Tree‘s less talented, less good-looking sibling.  Not one of the high points of U2’s recording career, is it?

Or is it?

Somewhere between a new studio album and a soundtrack for the over-baked road movie of the same name, nobody’s still absolutely sure what Rattle And Hum is meant to be.  A hodge-podge of live tracks, new songs, covers, it’s a bit of a mess really, isn’t it?

But make no mistake, there’s a great stand-alone studio album in there.  We’re going to fix Rattle And Hum.


First, let’s tackle the album cover.  It’s a great image, but the album title impinges on it too much.

How about this?

Much better, eh?

Now the music.

Here’s the original tracklist:

  1. Helter Skelter (Live Beatles cover)
  2. Van Diemen’s Land
  3. Desire
  4. Hawkmoon 269
  5. All Along The Watchtower (Live Bob Dylan cover)
  6. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For (Live)
  7. Freedom For My People (field recording)
  8. Silver And Gold (Live)
  9. Pride (In The Name Of Love) (Live)
  10. Angel Of Harlem
  11. Love Rescue Me
  12. When Love Comes To Town
  13. Heartland
  14. God Pt II
  15. The Star Spangled Banner (Live)
  16. Bullet The Blue Sky (Live)
  17. All I Want Is You

Right. First thing to do is strip out all the covers and live tracks.  They can be B-Sides.

Next, we have to get rid of the worst song in U2’s catalogue: ‘When Love Comes To Town’.  It’s dreadful.  Not only is it dreadful, it jars terribly coming after ‘Love Rescue Me’. Whoever sequenced this album is a dolt.

Next, we’ll add in a B-Side from one of Rattle And Hum‘s singles.  Namely, ‘Hallelujah (Here She Comes)’, the flip of ‘Desire’

Now let’s rejig the tracklist:

Side A

  1. Desire
  2. Hawkmoon 269
  3. Heartland
  4. God Pt. II
  5. Love Rescue Me

Side B

  1. Angel Of Harlem
  2. Van Diemen’s Land
  3. Hallelujah (Here She Comes)
  4. All I Want Is You

Here’s how our new Rattle And Hum sounds.  Pretty great, I’m sure you’ll agree.

Maybe for it’s 30th Anniversary, Island Records will release a Reduced Edition!