Upcoming: Prince and The Revolution – Purple Rain Expanded Edition

Thought I’d cast an eye over some of the exciting box sets headed our way over the next while.  First up, Prince & and The Revolution’s Purple Rain

Prince – Purple Rain (3CD + DVD Expanded Edition)

One of the key agreements in Prince’s 2013 contract with Warner Records was the release of a Purple Rain Deluxe Edition.  It was originally scheduled for release the following year, for the album’s 30th anniversary, but things being what they were in Prince’s orbit, the project ran late.  No matter, on June 23rd, we’ll be able to get our hands on it.

So what’s in it?

Well, the first disc is the original album remastered.  The remastering took place in 2015 for a vinyl reissue of the record, and that’s the version included here.  About time too.  For years, Prince’s CD reissues were lazy affairs, with perfunctory booklets, and more importantly, low volume mastering.  It’ll be great to hear a crisp, clean mix of the likes of ‘Take Me With U’, ‘Let’s Go Crazy’, and, of course, the majestic title track


Disc two is the really exciting one though.  This comprises 11 songs, all previously unreleased, from the mythical Prince vault.  Well, we say previously unreleased – many of the tracks leaked out over the years, but again, it’s exciting to know we’ll hear them straight from the masters, as they were intended.  Here’s the full tracklist, as reported by

  1. The Dance Electric
  2.  Love And Sex
  3.  Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version)
  4.  Electric Intercourse (Studio)
  5.  Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
  6.  Possessed (1983 version)
  7.  Wonderful Ass
  8.  Velvet Kitty Cat
  9.  Katrina’s Paper Dolls
  10. We Can Fuck
  11. Father’s Song

I for one am particularly interested in the aural masterpiece that’s sure to be ‘We Can Fuck’, not to mention the barbed social commentary of ‘Wonderful Ass’.  Warners have issued a couple of these tracks in anticipation of the album’s reissue, and you can hear them below

Incidentally, the album’s also being reissued as a 2Cd edition which includes the album remastered and the Vault tracks.  The Expanded Edition adds a third disc, made up of Single Edits and B-Sides:

  1.  When Doves Cry (edit)
  2. 17 Days
  3. Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
  4.  Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
  5.  Erotic City
  6.  Erotic City (“Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive”)
  7.  Purple Rain (edit)
  8.  God
  9.  God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
  10. Another Lonely Christmas
  11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
  12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
  13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
  14. Baby I’m A Star (edit)
  15. Take Me With U (edit)

Then we get to the DVD, which is a recording of Prince and The Revolution in concert in Syracuse, NY, in 1985 on the Purple Rain Tour. Tracklist is as follows:

  1. Let’s Go Crazy
  2. Delirious
  3. 1999
  4. Little Red Corvette
  5. Take Me With U
  6.  Do Me, Baby
  7.  Irresistible Bitch
  8.  Possessed
  9.  How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
  10. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
  11. International Lover
  12. God
  13. Computer Blue
  14. Darling Nikki
  15. The Beautiful Ones
  16. When Doves Cry
  17. I Would Die 4 U
  18. Baby I’m A Star
  19.  Purple Rain

One gripe is that it would’ve been nice to have a copy of the Purple Rain movie also on the DVD, given that the album was the film’s soundtrack.  However, let’s just be grateful that this momentous album is finally getting the celebration it deserves.  It’s without doubt a day-of-release purchase for us in RockYouLike Towers.